Reviews

8.1
Review score

Score Breakdown

Cleanliness
8.5
Comfort
8.1
Property location
7.2
Facilities
8.0
Staff
8.9
Value
8.0

Reviews

    Jennifer
    ie

    Review score

    10
    21 May 2018

    Fantastic cultural experience. Highly recommended as our first Royken stay!

    The place was slightly dated but super warm and welcoming and great value for money x
    The dinner on our first night was excellent....so varied and delicious. A really unique Japanese experience. The staff were excellent and very attentive to our needs. The shuttle bus was very convenient and the location (a 20 min walk or 5 min bus journey to the town centre) was fantastic for us. We loved the Royken experience and the onsen was a real bonus. Highly recommended.
    Rachel
    fr

    Review score

    8.3
    17 May 2018

    Ryokan very peaceful with a team very kind.

    For one night it was very perfect. If you would to stay a little bit more and if you don't want to eat to the ryokan you should think to buy your dinner as the ryokan is not near the city center.
    Quiet atmosphere.Free schuttle very useful.Very Good dinner with a lot of dishes.Hosts are very welcoming.
    kobir
    il

    Review score

    7.5
    14 May 2018
    There are no comments available for this review.
    Anaelle
    jp

    Review score

    7.1
    6 May 2018
    The breakfast was quite expansive. There was a strong smell in the room but the staff found us a new one as soon as we asked for.
    The onsen was very nice.
    Dimitris
    gr

    Review score

    8.8
    5 May 2018

    Nice experience in a Japanese Ryokan

    Everything was fine.
    Very good Ryokan in Takayama. It is the only ryokan we stayed in Japan and I can not compare it with others, but it has been a unique experience. Quite good location, a little away from downtown but near the Japanese village and other sights. Also, free shuttle service to the JR station.
    Yee Cheng
    sg

    Review score

    8.8
    4 May 2018
    There are no comments available for this review.
    Anna
    au

    Review score

    8.3
    3 May 2018

    Fantastic budget ryokan

    Nothing negative as you know exactly what you're getting when you book. There were no negative surprises (actually, only positive).
    We really appreciated the flexible shuttle bus service without a set time in the afternoon. The property is a little out of the centre, in a really nice, elevated area with views of the alps, a 5min walk to Hida Folk museum with stylish cafes/studios on the way, 1min walk to the Teddy bear cafe. The public bus stop is right out front too. The owner was a.really cool guy and really helpful. He gave us a printed map and bus timetable when we first checked in - this seems a simple gesture but in our 2 weeks in Japan he was the only one to do this. This is a budget ryokan so facilities are obviously not majestic. Nonetheless the feel is homely, friendly and relaxed. The bedrooms were upstairs and decently sized with the bedding on the floor. The shared bathroom facilities were directly opposite the bedrooms with easy access at night. Onsen is downstairs - men's on left, private (couples) in middle, women's on right. This was my first onsen experience and I felt the private onsen looked a little too dated and not so appealing. So I tried the women's one and loved it. Everything was in there - toiletries, towels etc. I felt so relaxed afterward. (We later tried a really upmarket onsen and apart from the views which the other offered, the experience was much the same). We also booked dinner as I wanted to try hida beef and the prices at the ryokan were so much more reasonable. My husband is vegetarian and they catered for him too. I loved this dinner! And I should note I'm not a huge fan of Japanese food and have had the 'kaiseki' (multi-course meal) at an upmarket place and preferred the tastes here. The restaurant is floor seating too and the service is lovely and laid back. Its a lovely experience that we woukd recommend.
    Allan
    au

    Review score

    7.1
    2 May 2018

    Pleasant stay in a lovely Japanese City

    Sleeping on the floor - uncomfortable bed
    The experience of a ryokan - traditional Japanese Inn. Having the onsen.
    James
    gb

    Review score

    7.1
    29 April 2018
    Having to find a phone to call for a shuttle bus when arriving can be tricky (messaging isn’t possible) and the only negative otherwise would be that a staff member walked into our room without knocking both mornings of our stay. This we found a little intrusive. The futon’s are a little thin but if you’re not used to this style of bed then this could be the case in many places.
    Traditional room and amazing shower! Strong internet and friendly welcoming staff. Overall a good stay but if you are after a luxurious Ryoken experience we’d recommend spending a little more elsewhere.
    Timpijning
    nl

    Review score

    8.8
    26 April 2018

    Friendly staff and owners working hard to please all their customers

    You sleep on a futon with tatami which is a bit hard but normal in Japan. The hotel is quite noisy. You can hear the people talking in other rooms.
    Onsen is open in the morning and afternoon Owners and staff are super helpful and friendly The owner speaks english very well the staff somewhat less but communication was no problem at all. Dinner and breakfast available.
    nl

    Review score

    8.8
    26 April 2018
    There are no comments available for this review.
    my

    Review score

    5.0
    25 April 2018

    Very far from the nearest train station.

    Quite far from train station. The hotel will only provide free pickup from station before 5.30pm. You have to take taxi after 5.30pm or walk to the hotel 1.9km distance. Not recommended.
    Bruce
    au

    Review score

    9.6
    25 April 2018

    This was our second Ryokan and it was just as good while different to the first.

    Attentive staff great food and fabulous food
    S. O.
    gb

    Review score

    9.6
    22 April 2018

    Nice ryokan, good value for money

    A bit far from the centre, but this was advertised, so there is nothing we did not like! Thank you!
    Helpful, kind staff, great the shuttle service! We stayed two nights, loved the onsen, and they have a family onsen too, which is great! Nice, clean place to stay and visit Takayama and its neighbourhood. Internet connection is strong.
    Adi
    il

    Review score

    6.2
    21 April 2018
    There are no comments available for this review.
    SERIPHINA
    sg

    Review score

    8.3
    20 April 2018
    There are no comments available for this review.
    John
    ca

    Review score

    9.6
    19 April 2018

    Comfortable, quiet ryokan with good food and nice Onsen, and helpful staff.

    Quiet. Good food. Helpful staff. This was a return trip. We were here in the fall of 2016, and now in April 2018.
    Katrina
    gb

    Review score

    8.8
    19 April 2018

    Homely atmosphere

    Great ryokan to stay in. Lovely homely atmosphere which makes you feel relaxed. We really enjoyed using the Onsen. Staff are friendly and helpful. It’s a little out of the town centre but walkable in 30 minutes easily. Breakfast was very good and all areas are super clean.
    Jiraporn
    th

    Review score

    7.9
    20 May 2018
    There are no comments available for this review.
    Dewi
    id

    Review score

    9.6
    9 May 2018

    Excelent.

    The last drop off in the morning to the station should be at a later time so people who already check out in the morning could appreciate the area without rush.
    The dinner, the onsen, the staff the pick up and drop off the location where I had a wonderfulmorning morning walk to the Hida folk Village. I love the surrounded area. I no doubt will come back.
Loading reviews