Reviews

8.2
Review score

Score Breakdown

Cleanliness
8.5
Comfort
8.1
Property location
7.3
Facilities
8.1
Staff
8.9
Value
8.1

Reviews

    Simon
    gb

    Review score

    10
    12 September 2018
    There are no comments available for this review.
    diana333
    es

    Review score

    9.2
    18 August 2018

    Beautiful ryokan with a public bath

    The only thing I have to say is that it's a bit far from the city centre (30 minutes). This obliges you to walk and walk in order to have dinner. The way is a bit dark at night as well. Be careful when walking!!
    It is a beautiful ryokan which has a public bath. In fact, there is a mixed bath, although it is a bit small. Anyway, it is enough to relax after a long day walking. The rooms are big and the Japanese futon is very comfortable. I think this is one of the best places where I have slept in Japan. In addition, continental breakfast was delicious.
    Sue
    nz

    Review score

    10
    14 August 2018
    There are no comments available for this review.
    ElsaTH
    gb

    Review score

    9.6
    13 August 2018
    Great location for the Hida Folk Village, although a bit of a walk into the old town. However we managed easily with 4 children. Very friendly owners. Lovely Onsen. Daily morning transport to station.
    Joost
    nl

    Review score

    7.1
    11 August 2018
    Nice traditional place with friendly staf
    keung
    hk

    Review score

    10
    11 August 2018
    NA
    This is one of the stop during our family trip. This place is not closed to station but since we drove and it just took about 6-7 minutes driving distance to there. We noticed that all guest stay are foreigners, we are the only Chinese family stay there during that night :) The accommodation in-charge can speak v good English and v helpful. Room size is big and hygiene, feel v comfortable during the night. We use hot spring facilities as well and we enjoy much too. There is no cafe / restaurant nearby, so we order breakfast for next day. They offer traditional Japanese breakfast or Western breakfast. Food taste good.
    Xavier
    es

    Review score

    7.1
    1 August 2018
    Really far from the city centrum and I expected bit more od a ryokan, but it was not expensive, so for this it’s ok!
    The best was the staff, really really nice
    Alon Faingertz
    au

    Review score

    5.8
    22 July 2018

    Decent place in Takayama

    It's far from the the town abed train Station, takes about 20-25 min walk. Worth paying a bit extra and have everything within walking distance. The baths are small
    Staff are friendly and helpful Room is clean
    Sven
    th

    Review score

    6.2
    5 July 2018
    There are no comments available for this review.
    Paulo
    ie

    Review score

    8.8
    24 June 2018
    18 min walk from train station, the good thing is that it is next to the villa folk
    Grace
    sg

    Review score

    10
    20 June 2018

    Excellent value ryokan

    Nothing. Although the ryokan's location isn't walking distance to the main touristy area, it wasn't a problem for us because we drove. We could find parking pretty easily (even on a Saturday) in town area at 200yen per 30mins.
    We stayed in the Japanese style standard family room with shared bathroom. The huge tatami room felt so liberating. We also love the private family bath, especially my 2 daughters. Although the room doesn't have its own toilet and bathroom, the shared toilets were right outside our room. The futons were comfortable. The wifi was excellent. The sumptuous dinner set was awesome. It was a highlight of our trip. We also appreciate the drinking water dispenser near the reception. The traditional Japanese window shade means the room is very bright in the morning. Do bring an eye mask if it may bother you. The complimentary small gifts at reception delighted my kids.
    Robert
    gb

    Review score

    8.8
    11 June 2018

    We had a lovely time in this friendly ryokan. Location on the edge of town is no problem at all.

    Decor a little tired, but not a big issue.
    Friendly staff, spacious rooms, nice and quiet surroundings. Edge of town location was fine for us as we walked or made use of the morning shuttle offered.
    Elon
    il

    Review score

    8.3
    10 June 2018
    We looked for a traditional japanese accomodation and we believe we found it.
    Nico Frey
    ar

    Review score

    8.8
    7 June 2018
    They seemed to run out of hot water at night (it was back the next morning).
    Super nice staff, they even drove us to the train station when we left :)
    Howard
    th

    Review score

    8.3
    2 June 2018

    A most enjoyable stay

    Wifi in our room (315) sometimes unusable (we had our own, but could be a problem if you don’t).
    Great owner (excellent English) and other staff. Super value for money. Japanese style breakfast pretty good, western less so (cost:Yen1,200). Very good traditional dinner at a very reasonable price (served at traditional Japanese tables in tatami dining room). Large tatami room (Japanese-Style Superior Twin Room with Private Bathroom), good bathroom, sitting area, city and mountain view. Very nice. Futons and pillows somewhat uncomfortable for us, although I would say the same about any futon! We had a car, so easy for us to get around, but otherwise do be aware that it is a bit out of town, and not much in the way of choice of nearby restaurants. Overall, a most enjoyable stay for us however.
    Sulis Tinawati
    id

    Review score

    10
    30 May 2018

    BEYOND EXPECTATION EXPERIENCE

    The ryokan was beyond expectation. From the first day we arrived, we already regret of staying only 1 night. The place was so traditional, everything was prepared nicely with a thoughful touch. The room was huge, with traditional japanese sliding door. I think we get upgraded with a private toilet inside the room. The onsen was blissfull. We get to used the private onsen twice. There are ladies/gentlemen only onsen which was perfect too. The food was one of a kind. It was super super good. Very recommended to have dinner in this ryokan, their meal was so delicious and looks home made to me. And value for money too. Plus you get the experience of eating with yukata in japanese style dining room. It was perfect. The owner does not speak proper english but they do try to acommodate to your request. The staff were all friendly. Definitely a come back to this place if we ever come to takayama again. The ryokan looks a bit old but i can see they are start to renovating in several places. The electronics in the room also a bit outdated, but since we come for leisure, we dont mind at all. Overall it was a very very very nice experience. I recommend to stay at least 2 nights, because turn out there are quite a few historical places in the area. Plus the onsen and food was the best!!! Top notch service. Very recommended to stay here.
    Vincent Roels
    cz

    Review score

    10
    28 May 2018
    There are no comments available for this review.
    Thanh Nguyen
    gb

    Review score

    10
    21 September 2018

    Clean, comfortable and friendly

    The rooms are not entirely sound proof but guests are very quiet and respectful.
    Clean, comfortable, spacious Japanese style rooms with excellent facilities including onsen rooms and washing machine with dryer. Th0e Ryokan located in a very picturesque part of the city. The walk from the Ryokan to the Old Town and Markets takes only 30 minutes. A nice way to explore the city.
    us

    Review score

    9.6
    23 August 2018
    There are no comments available for this review.
    Jing
    cn

    Review score

    4.6
    6 August 2018
    A bit far from the train station/bus center. At least 30min walk. There are only 3 hotel shuttles in the morning. Rooms are out-dated with odor. Shared bathroom. Got a room next to the Men’s restroom!
    IT's a OK place to stay if you can’t book a hotel near the city center.
Loading reviews